Rollins, Victorino Win Gold Gloves

Per Memories of Kevin Malone, a premature (and hopefully accurate) list of National League Gold Glove winners.

Update: It’s official.

P – Adam Wainwright
C – Yadier Molina
1B – Adrian Gonzalez
2B – Orlando Hudson
3B – Ryan Zimmerman
SS – Jimmy Rollins
OF – Shane Victorino

OF – Matt Kemp
OF – Michael Bourn

The results, at least on the Phillies side of things, are funny to say the least. Rollins and Victorino were among the poorer fielders on the team (2.9 and -4.2 UZR/150 respectively) and neither was the best at his position:

  • NL SS best by UZR/150: Rafael Furcal, 8.5
  • Rollins UZR/150: 2.9
  • NL SS best by Dewan +/-: Brendan Ryan, +24
  • Rollins +/-: -3
  • NL CF best by UZR/150: Colby Rasmus, 13.4
  • Victorino UZR/150: -4.2
  • NL CF best by Dewan +/-: Tony Gwynn, +23
  • Victorino +/-: -14

The glaring omission is Chase Utley, who tied with Freddy Sanchez for the best UZR/150 by a NL second baseman and led the NL in +/- at +14. Orlando Hudson had a -3.7 UZR/150 and +8 in Dewan.

An argument could also have been made for Jayson Werth in right field, though because the Gold Glove only recognizes outfielders as outfielders and not as left, center, or right fielders, there were certainly more than enough candidates ahead of him that an omission here is not so glaring.

Potential free agent signees Adrian Beltre (21.0 UZR/150, +27 Dewan) and Chone Figgins (18.8, +40) ranked highly defensively in the AL but the award was given to a just-as-deserving Evan Longoria (19.2, +21).